Councillor information

Your councillors

Bury Council has 51 elected councillors. The council is responsible for appointing the Leader of the Council which is currently Councillor Rishi Shori. You can find the contact details of your councillors below.

Find and view details of your Councillors

Alternatively, ward and contact details can be found in:pdf icon Know your Councillor - details of Councillors and the wards they represent [1Mb].

Ask a question

You can use our online form below to ask a question of any or all of the Councillors representing the Ward of your choice. Simply give your name and email address, select your ward, and choose any or all of the Councillors you want the question to go to. Then enter your question.

Ask a councillor a question

Council constitution

Political make-up of the Council

After the local elections 2019:

  • Bury is a Labour Party controlled Council
  • There are 51 seats on the Council
  • There are three seats in each of the seventeen wards
  • Labour: 29 Councillors
  • Conservative: 16 Councillors
  • Liberal Democrat: 4 Councillors
  • Independent: 2 Councillors


  • Leader of the Council - Councillor Rishi Shori (Labour)
  • Deputy Leader - Councillor Andrea Simpson (Labour)

Council opposition groups

  • Conservative Group Leader - Councillor James Daly
  • Conservative Deputy Leader - Councillor Nicholas Jones
  • Liberal Democrat Group Leader - Councillor Tim Pickstone
  • Liberal Democrat Deputy Leader - Councillor Cristina Tegolo

Cabinet portfolios and members

  • Economic Growth, Skills and Transport - Councillor Rishi Shori (Labour)
  • Health and Wellbeing - Councillor Andrea Simpson (Labour)
  • Finance and Housing - Councillor Eamonn O'Brien (Labour)
  • Children and Families - Councillor Tamoor Tariq (Labour)
  • Communities - Councillor Sharon Briggs (Labour)
  • Environment - Councillor Alan Quinn (Labour)
  • Corporate Affairs and HR - Councillor Jane Black (Labour)

Deputy Cabinet members

  • Environment - Councillor Tony Cummings (Labour)
  • Children and Families - Councillor Rhyse Cathcart (Labour)
  • Communities - Councillor R. Gold (Labour)
  • Health and Wellbeing - Councillor Karen Leach (Labour)
  • Economic Regeneration - Councillor Kevin Thomas (Labour)

Shadow Cabinet

  • Economic Growth and Transport - Councillor James Daly (Conservative)
  • Finance and Housing - Councillor Nicholas Jones (Conservative)
  • Health and Wellbeing - Councillor Roy Walker (Conservative)
  • Children and Families - Councillor Robert Caserta (Conservative)
  • Communities - Councillor Dorothy Gunther (Conservative)
  • Environment - Councillor Paul Cropper (Conservative)
  • Corporate Affairs and Human Resources - Councillor Ian Schofield (Conservative)

Mayor of Bury

  • Councillor Trevor Holt
  • Mrs Evelyn Holt (Mayoress)

Deputy Mayor

  • Councillor Shaheena Haroon
  • Mr Raja Haroon Khan - (Deputy Mayor's Consort)

Contact for Democratic Services