Skip to main content

The current political position of Bury Council is Labour Party controlled.

There are three seats in each of the seventeen wards, which totals 51 elected seats. The breakdown of seats is:

  • Labour: 31 councillors
  • Conservative: 11 councillors
  • Radcliffe First: 8 councillors
  • Independent: 1 councillor.


  • Leader of the Council: Councillor Eamonn O'Brien (Labour)
  • Deputy Leader: Councillor Lucy Smith (Labour)

Council opposition groups

  • Conservative Group Leader: Councillor Russell Bernstein
  • Conservative Deputy Leader: Councillor Jo Lancaster
  • Radcliffe First Group Leader: Councillor Mike Smith
  • Radcliffe First Deputy Leader: Councillor Carol Birchmore

Cabinet portfolios and members

  • Leader, Strategic Growth: Councillor Eamonn O'Brien
  • Adult Care, Health and Wellbeing: Vacant
  • Children and Young People: Councillor Lucy Smith
  • Environment, Climate Change and Operations: Councillor Alan Quinn
  • Finance and Communities: Councillor Richard Gold
  • Culture and Economy: Councillor Charlotte Morris
  • Corporate Affairs and HR: Councillor Tahir Rafiq
  • Housing Services: Councillor Clare Cummins

Deputy Cabinet members

  • Children and Young People Services: Councillor Debbie Quinn and Councillor Sean Thorpe
  • Communities: Councillor Ummrana Farooq
  • Health and Wellbeing: Councillor Tom Pilkington and Councillor Nathan Boroda
  • Environment, Climate Change and Operations: Councillor Kevin Peel
  • Corporate Affairs and HR: Councillor Joan Grimshaw and Councillor Elliot Moss

Shadow Cabinet

  • Leader, Finance, Strategic Growth, Corporate Core and HR: Councillor Russell Bernstein
  • Deputy Leader, Environment, Highways and Operations: Councillor Jo Lancaster
  • Health and Wellbeing: Councillor Roger Brown
  • Culture and Economy: Councillor Liam James Dean
  • Children, Young People and Skills: Councillor Luis McBriar
  • Communities: Councillor Dene Vernon
  • Housing: Councillor Khalid Hussain

Mayor of Bury

  • Councillor Sandra Walmsley
  • Councillor Gillian Hargreaves (Mayoress)
  • Mr James Bentley (Mayor's Consort)