How are buildings listed

The following are the main criteria which applies in deciding which buildings to include in the statutory lists:

(i) Architectural Interest

The lists are meant to include all buildings, which are of importance to the nation for the special interest of their architectural design, decoration and craftsmanship. This list should also include important examples of particular building types and techniques (e.g., buildings displaying technical innovation or virtuosity) and significant plan forms.

(ii) Historical Interest

This includes buildings which illustrate important aspects of the nation's social, economic, cultural or military history.

(iii) Close Historical Associations

With nationally important people or events.

(iv) Group Value

Especially where buildings comprise together an important architectural or historical unity or a fine example of planning (e.g., squares, terraces or model villages).
Not all these criteria will be relevant to every case but a particular building may qualify for listing under more than one of them.

Age and rarity are relevant considerations, particularly where buildings are proposed for listing on the strength of their historic interest. The older a building is and the fewer the surviving examples of its kind, the more likely it is to be of historic importance. Thus, all buildings built before 1700 which survive in anything like their original condition are listed and most buildings of about 1700 to 1840 are listed, though some selection is necessary. After about 1840, because of the increased number of buildings erected and the larger survival rate, greater selection is necessary. This should identify the best examples of particular building types, and only buildings of definite quality and character are listed. For the same reasons, only selected buildings from the period after 1914 are normally listed. Buildings which are less than 30 years old are normally listed only if they are of outstanding quality and under threat. Buildings which are less than ten years old are not listed.

The approach adopted for twentieth century listing is to identify key exemplars for each of a range of building types - industrial, educational, residential, etc. and to meet these exemplars as broadly defining a standard against which to judge proposals for further additions to the list.

Bury Council list of Listed Buildings is kept under constant review. Any person may request amendments to the list. Such requests should be addressed to English Heritage.

Contact for Listed Buildings