Skip to main content

The Food Hygiene Rating Scheme helps consumers choose where to eat out or shop for food by giving them information about the hygiene standards in restaurants, takeaways and food shops.

About the food hygiene rating scheme

The National Food Hygiene Rating Scheme rates food businesses against six hygiene ratings ranging from 0 (the worst rating) to 5 (the best rating). The score is based on how well a business met the requirements of food hygiene laws at their most recent food safety inspection. The rating considers:

  • how hygienically the food is handled - how it is prepared, cooked, re-heated, cooled and stored;
  • the condition of the structure of the building - the cleanliness, layout, lighting ventilation and other facilities;
  • how the business manages what it does to make sure food is safe and standards maintained.

The hygiene ratings are as follows.

  • 5 = very Good.
  • 4 = good.
  • 3 = generally satisfactory.
  • 2 = improvement necessary.
  • 1 = major improvement necessary.
  • 0 = urgent improvement necessary.

Businesses get a rating sticker to display at their premises if they wish.

To ensure that the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme is fair to businesses it includes an appeals procedure, a right to reply and the option to request a re-visit.

More information

Visit the Food standards Agency website for more information and: