Non-designated heritage assets

Criteria for Local Heritage Listing

The national list of statutory listed buildings is compiled and updated by Historic England. This covers buildings of national importance and all are protected against removal or harmful alteration. There are approximately 340 such buildings in Bury. Other buildings are protected, though to a lesser degree, by inclusion within a conservation area.

In addition to these, each part of the Bury area has a wealth of buildings constructed between the 16th and 20th centuries and which are important to the general character and distinctiveness of the borough. Whilst these building may not be of national interest, they are a valuable asset to the area's heritage and character, and they should be recorded and protected as far as is possible.

Since the introduction of the National Planning Policy Framework in 2013 a new category of heritage asset has been introduced - a non-designated heritage asset. This can be a building, structure, land or object that is of local heritage interest and where the LPA has identified its significance either through the production of a local heritage list of such buildings or in response to specific development proposals or works. This is the basis for producing a local heritage list of such buildings for the Bury MB area. The buildings on the local list should meet a certain standard of selection. The local list should also recognise other structures such as memorials, monuments and artwork, together with the contribution made by areas such as graveyards and industrial, archaeological and agricultural sites. When planning permission is required, the significance of buildings/structures on the list should be fully assessed, and taken into account by the LPA.

The broad criteria and guidance for selection now put forward is adapted from the guidance issued by Historic England Advice Note 7, Local Heritage Listing. The LPA will consider buildings based on these criteria, but also adapted to reflect local character and priorities. The spread of such buildings throughout the borough will also be a consideration, so that each part of the borough will have buildings within the list. Buildings can be added to or deleted from the local heritage list at any time as new information comes to light or when full significance assessments are made. In general terms, the following guidance should be used to assess for inclusion in the local heritage list.

Age and rarity

  • Buildings and structures less than 40 years old are not normally eligible for inclusion on the Local Heritage List
  • Buildings constructed before 1840 that survive in anything like their original condition may be included.
  • If built between 1840 and 1919 (late Georgian/Victorian/Edwardian), buildings that retain many of their original and special features, and that are of sufficient quality to distinguish them from other buildings of that period may be included.
  • If built between 1919 and 1939, buildings that are a good example of the style of the period, or are a good example of a particular building type which was popular in the period, may be included.
  • Buildings designed by a local or locally important architect may be included.
  • If built between 1939 and 1945, rare surviving examples of wartime structures may be included.
  • Buildings of exceptional quality, innovation and design built between 1946 and 1977 may be included.

Historic interest

  • Buildings or structures associated with an important historic figure or event may be included.
  • Fine or rare examples of buildings that illustrate social, economic or industrial history, or a good example of town planning may be included.
  • Buildings that illustrate an important part of Bury's cultural history may be included.
  • Important parts of Bury's industrial history, for example, remaining structures related to the former Manchester, Bolton and Bury Canal, and agricultural sites, may be included.
  • Important churchyards, memorials and monuments may be included.
  • Most war memorials should be included.
  • Known archaeological sites should be included.

Architectural interest

  • Buildings designed by an architect important to Bury or the region may be included.
  • Buildings designed by an architect of national importance may be included.
  • Buildings that are a good example of a style of building that is unique to the local area may be included
  • Groups of buildings that together are a good surviving example of an historic architectural style or have significant group value may be included.
  • Good early examples of a particular technological innovation in building type and technique may be included.
  • Buildings that contribute to the character, setting and group interest of listed buildings and ancient monuments, and the character of conservation areas, may be included.

Structures and street furniture

  • Street furniture or other structures (boundary stones, mile stones, post boxes, memorials, lamp posts, statues, street surfaces, walls and railings) may be included if they meet the following.
  • They are rare surviving examples of street furniture that contribute positively to the local area?
  • They are important in terms of local history?
  • The feature represents design innovation or is a good example of its type.
  • Milestones should in general be included.
  • Boundary markers installed before 1945 should be included.

Contact for Development Management