Types of election

The UK Government has introduced a requirement for voters to show photo ID when voting at a polling station at some elections - go to Voter ID

  • Local Elections
    Bury is made up of 17 wards, and each ward is represented by three Councillors. Each Councillor is elected for a period of four years, and elections are held on the first Thursday in May in three out of four years (every fourth year there are no elections). 
  • Parliamentary General Elections
    Bury has two Parliamentary Constituencies, Bury North and Bury South. Parliamentary General Elections take place every five years.
  • GM Mayoral
    Bury is part of the Greater Manchester Mayoral constituency. GM Mayoral Elections are held every three years. For more information on the GM Mayoral Elections go to GM Elects - Greater Manchester Combined Authority Mayoral Election.

By-elections: A by-election is held due to a resignation or death of a Councillor or MP.

Polling stations hours are 7am to 10pm. Your local polling station can be found on your polling card.

Contact for Elections