Skip to main content

Local elections

The borough of Bury is made up of 17 wards.

Each ward is represented by three Councillors who are elected for a period of four years.

Local elections are held on the first Thursday in the month of May. The cycle of elections occur every year for three years and hold no elections in the fourth year.

Parliamentary General elections

Bury has two Parliamentary constituencies, which are Bury North and Bury South. 

Parliamentary General elections take place every five years to elect a Member of Parliament (MP) for each constituency.


A by-election is held when a Council or MP resigns or passes away. 

Greater Manchester Mayoral elections

Bury is part of the Greater Manchester Mayoral constituency. 

Greater Manchester Mayoral elections are held every three years. Visit the Greater Manchester Combined Authority Mayoral election website for more information.