School term dates

The dates below are agreed by the Local Authority for community and voluntary controlled schools. In voluntary aided and foundation schools the governing bodies approve their own dates. However in the majority of cases this is in line with the LA's pattern. Within the holiday pattern, there are a number of days each year (classed as 'occasional days holiday') where schools are able to choose the dates, giving them a little flexibility. Our calendars are only a guide - checks should be made with individual schools for their exact dates.

If you have any queries about this information then please contact us.

Read about holidays taken in term time

2016/2017

Autumn term 2016

Starts: Thursday 1 September 2016.
Half term: Monday 24 October - Friday 28 October 2016.
Ends: Friday 23 December 2016.

Spring term 2017

Starts: Monday 9 January 2017.
Half term: Monday 20 February - Friday 24 February 2017.
Ends: Friday 31 March 2017.

Summer term 2017

Starts: Tuesday 18 April 2017.
Bank holiday: Monday 1 May 2017.
Half term: Monday 29 May - Friday 2 June 2017.
Ends: Friday 21 July 2017.

Total number of days: 195

2017/2018

Autumn term 2017

Starts: Monday 4 September 2017.
Half term: Monday 23 October - Friday 27 October 2017.
Ends: Wednesday 20 December 2017.

Spring term 2018

Starts: Tuesday 2 January 2018.
Half term: Monday 19 February - Friday 23 February 2018.
Ends: Thursday 29 March 2018.

Summer term 2018

Starts: Monday 16 April 2018.
Bank holiday: Monday 7 May 2018.
Half term: Monday 28 May - Friday 1 June 2018.
Ends: Friday 20 July 2018.

Total number of days: 195